Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for June 6th, 2009

The Great Dance Debate

Let me start by saying thank you to everyone who commented on my last post.  All of your suggestions were helpful, especiallyLindsey’s , who suggested that I just throw the recliner away.  I seriously thought about that one because really, who wants to clean a pee soaked chair?  Not me!  Although, I thought with the state of the economy I would choose the cheaper option.   I used a combination of Borax, baking soda, and sunlight.  All have worked to get the smell out, but the stain is still there.  I’m going to have to get some of that cleaner that Danielle mentioned because I do remember that it worked on my couch so well for food stains that we used the whole bottle. 

When I haven’t been all consumed with potty training over here (which takes up most of my free time), I have been worrying myself silly over whether or not I should start Aeralyn on dance classes this fall. 

What?  You never knew that I make a HUGE deal out of seemingly very small matters?  Well, hello!  You do not know the half of it.  Feel free to roll your eyes at my expense, because honestly?  I know I’m all shades of crazy.  My family tells me often.

Anyway, Aeralyn is 2 and 1/2 now, and I’m thinking it is time to put her in dance.  I say that, and I mean it, but in the same breath I realize how ridiculous that sounds, too.  I mean, she is 2 and 1/2.  Practically still a baby.  I do think that she is ready for something though, and I’m thinking dance is where we will start. 

Now, my issue is that there are tons of dance studios in our area.  The first one I looked at was ruled out quickly when I saw that the elementary age dancers were wearing booty shorts, half tops, fishnet stockings, and makeup caked on thicker than a New Jersey housewife.  It was also run by a girl that I went to highschool with and was never very fond of, so that was a quick no.  Even a HELL NO considering I don’t want my little girl looking like a little ho.

There were a few other studios that were quickly ruled out when I heard from other moms with experience that they didn’t approve of the dance moves, didn’t love the instructors, etc. 

Then I found one studio that I liked because they wear cute, age appropriate constumes, the owner is young, vibrant, and super sweet, and I had a good reccommendation from a mom that I know and trust.  They have one recital a year, classes are once a week from September to May, they have award winning competition dancers, and the instructors are all exceptionally trained.  The only drawback that I see is the price: $500. 

Five. Hundred. Dollars.  Half of ONE THOUSAND DOLLARS.  Payable in 4 easy installments of $125.  Oh, and by the way?  Costumes for recitals are extra. 

Once I died and came back to life, I realized that that is the going rate for dance classes, and actually?  That is a little cheaper than some places. 

Once I came to terms with the fact that dancing is quite an expensive activity, I thought I had settled on that studio.  I signed Aeralyn up for the one week summer dance camp and went on about my merry way.  Then, just yesterday, I found out about another dance studio that is right down the street from the first one.  I recognized the name right away, but I always assumed it was in Savannah, not close to my house, so I never thought twice about it.  Well, I paid that studio a visit this morning, and was practically swept off my feet. 

This studio is bright and shiny and a thousand times fancier than the first one.  I tried to tell myself that brighter and shinier does not always mean better, but I was quickly falling in love.  I took a tour and even got to watch a 5-6 year old class practice for the upcoming recital.  The dance was cute, the costumes were even cuter, and as far as I could see, I didn’t see a child hooker wannabe anywhere in sight.  The instuctor was also young (although older than the first), vibrant, and cheerful.  This studio has 2 recitals a year, including the cutest ever Christmas one where they perform the Grinch.  They have a float in both of our hometown parades, exceptionally trained instructors, a summer dance camp, and the same prices as the first dance studio.  BUT WAIT!  There’s more!  They also have logo tees, shorts, jackets, etc., monnagrammed dance bags and jackets, and all the other bright shiny stuff. And a waiting room for parents to sit in with a TV that shows your child’s class while they are practicing. 

I badly want to go with the fancier studio, but then again, I almost feel like I should go with the first because I really did love it, until I saw this other one.  And I already have Aeralyn enrolled in the camp there with a nonrefundable deposit.  I could try the first studio for a year and if I don’t like it, change to the other one the next year, but I really don’t want to do that.  I am almost certain that this is something Aeralyn is going to enjoy and want to stick with for a while, so I would like to pick a place and keep it instead of flip flopping. 

Is anybody still out there?  If you have any advice to give, please give it.  I know you may think this is the most ridiculous thing you’ve ever heard in your life, but it is very important to me, and I’m pretty sure it is going to be important to Aeralyn in the near future.  Atleast, I hope it is because I sure have wasted a lot of time worrying about it if it’s not.

Read Full Post »